WYPDES PERMIT FEES
In the 2013 Wyoming legislative session, the Wyoming Environmental Quality Act was amended to restructure the payment and collection of permit fees for WYPDES discharge permits. The basic change was to require payment of the associated permit fees prior to permit issuance or renewal. Beginning July 1, 2013, all applications for new permits and permit renewals (including general permit authorizations) must be accompanied with payment for the full term of the permit or authorization
Permittees can now pay permit fees electronically using DEQ’s e-payment website. Permittees who wish to use the electronic payment option will also need to submit their applications electronically using the WYPDES Electronic Document Upload Form. Submitting an application electronically through this form will generate a receipt number that will be emailed to the permittee; the permittee will need this receipt number to submit the electronic payment. Additional instructions about submitting an application electronically and making an electronic payment are available on the respective websites noted above. Permittees who submit applications in hard copy should include a check for permit fees with the hard copy applications; electronic payment should not be used for applications submitted in hard copy. The important requirements are:
1. The permit fee must be submitted along with an individual permit application or general permit Notice of Intent (NOI);
2. Permit fees are $200 per permit per year of the permit term. Portions of a year are charged the full $200 yearly fee. For example, a 6-month authorization costs $200, the same as a 12 month authorization. Likewise, a 13-month authorization costs $400, the same as 24 months;
3. The permit term begins when the permit authorization is approved, not when the application/NOI is submitted;
4. The permit fee will cover the full term of the permit. Additional fees will not be assessed to a new permittee upon permit transfer;
5. Permit fees are required only for new permits and renewals of existing permits;
6. Permit fees are not required for permit modifications or transfers;
7. Reimbursements will not be made for unused portions of a permit term in the event of early termination;
Questions on permit fees should be directed
to Marilyn Siemens, 307-777-2592;
HOW TO CALCULATE THE APPROPRIATE FEE AMOUNT TO BE SUBMITTED WITH YOU
INDIVIDUAL WYPDES PERMITS:
Fee - $1000
Individual permits are issued for a period of 5 years. A payment for $1000 per permit must be included with all applications for new permits and renewals for individual WYPDES permits.
GENERAL PERMITS FOR TEMPORARY DISCHARGES:
Fee - $200
Authorizations under the following general permits are
only issued for a maximum term of one year therefore, each authorization
under one of these permits carries a flat fee of $200.
WYG310000 – CBM Drought Relief and CBM Temporary Discharge: Fee - $200
WYG720000 – Groundwater Well Pump Tests and Development: Fee - $200
WYG740000 – Construction Dewatering, Water Line Disinfection and
Hydrostatic Testing: Fee - $200
GENERAL PERMITS FOR STORMWATER, PESTICIDES, GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION
AND WETLAND MITIGATION
Except for authorizations under the general permits for
temporary discharges listed above, the length of the authorization under any
other WYPDES general permit varies depending upon the NOI date and the
expiration of the master general permit.
An authorization cannot be issued that extends coverage beyond the
expiration date of the master general permit.
However, authorizations can be issued for shorter periods.
The fee calculator below can be used to determine the applicable fee
for any of the listed general permit authorizations based upon the NOI date
and the requested expiration date.
How to use the
calculator: [Note]: If
you enter various date scenarios to see the effect on the permit fee, be
sure to use the TAB key after changing a date.
Using the [ENTER] key will not force a recalculation.
1. Identify the general permit under which you will be submitting a Notice of Intent (NOI)
2. “Enter NOI Date”: Enter the date you expect to submit your NOI. The “Requested Expiration Date” is pre-filled with the “Master General Permit Expiration Date. ”The permit fee will automatically calculate assuming that you want the authorization for its maximum allowable term.
Date”: This field is pre-filled with the expiration date of the
Master General Permit however, the date can be changed if you don’t need the
authorization for its maximum allowable term.
For example, the Stormwater – Mineral Mining general permit does not
expire until 3/31/2023. If you
submit an NOI on 08/01/2019 and want coverage until 3/31/23, the permit fee
will be $800. If however,
your project won’t last that long and you only need coverage until 7/1/2021,
you can change the requested expiration date to be 7/1/2021 and the permit
fee will be $400.
Important: It is required that you maintain permit coverage until your site is completely stabilized/reclaimed according to the general permit terms. If you request a shorter expiration date than the maximum allowable term, be sure to allow enough time to achieve final stabilization. Failure to do so will result in having to re-apply for additional coverage and/or potential enforcement for non-coverage.
4. The minimum permit fee under any scenario is $200 and the maximum is $1000. If you are having trouble with the calculator or have any questions regarding permit fees, please contact Marilyn Siemens, 307-777-2592; email@example.com.
|General Permit Number||Permit Type||Master GP Issue Date||Master GP Expiration Date||Enter NOI Date||Enter Requested Expiration Date||Permit Fee|
|WYR100000||Stormwater - Construction (Large)||09/11/2020||08/01/2025||-|
|WYR000000||Stormwater - Industrial||3/1/2018||8/31/2022||-|
|WYR320000||Stormwater - Mineral Mining||4/1/2018||3/31/2023||-|
|WYR040000||Stormwater - Municipal (MS4)||12/1/2008||9/30/2013||-|
|WYG940000||Temporary Discharge - Groundwater Remediation||9/14/2017||8/31/2022||-|